49ers’ Bosa PFWA Rookie and Defensive Rookie of the Year, Raiders’ Jacobs Offensive Rookie of the Year; 2019 All-Rookie Team named

San Francisco 49ers defensive end Nick Bosa, who posted nine sacks and led the NFL with 25 quarterback hits, was selected as the 2019 Rookie of the Year and the Defensive Rookie of the Year, chosen in voting conducted by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA). Oakland Raiders running back Josh Jacobs, who led […]

Continue Reading

PFWA 2019 All-NFL, All-AFC and All-NFC teams announced

The Baltimore Ravens and New Orleans Saints placed a league-high four players on the 2019 All-NFL team, chosen in voting conducted by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA). The Ravens placed quarterback Lamar Jackson, guard Marshal Yanda, offensive tackle Ronnie Stanley and placekicker Justin Tucker on the All-NFL team. The Saints placed wide receiver […]

Continue Reading

PFWA to announce 2019 postseason on-field awards January 13-17

The Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) will announce their 2019 postseason on-field award winners during the week of January 13-17, 2019. The announcements will be made here at ProFootballWriters.org, through the PFWA’s official Twitter feed (@PFWAwriters) and via email to PFWA members and NFL league and club PR staffs each day at 1 pm […]

Continue Reading

PFWA announces 2019 Dick Connor Writing Awards

Rich Cimini of ESPN.com, Michael Cohen of The Athletic, Scott Fowler of the Charlotte Observer, Ian O’Connor of ESPN.com, Ben Shpigel of the New York Times and Seth Wickersham of ESPN The Magazine all won first place honors in their respective categories in the Professional Football Writers of America’s 2019 Dick Connor Writing Awards. The […]

Continue Reading

Don Banks 1962-2019

Longtime NFL reporter Don Banks died Sunday, August 4 in Canton, Ohio after attending the Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend, where he covered the HOF ceremonies and was in attendance when his good friend Sam Farmer was honored with the Dick McCann Award. Banks’ first story for the Las Vegas Review-Journal was published hours before […]

Continue Reading