Good Guy Award

The PFWA’s Good Guy Award is given to a NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping pro football writers do their jobs. The award was first given by the PFWA in 2005.

GOOD GUY AWARD WINNERS (To a NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job):
NOTE: Year indicates when award was presented for the previous season
2005 — Jerome Bettis (Pittsburgh Steelers)
2006 — Tiki Barber (New York Giants)
2007 — LaDainian Tomlinson (San Diego Chargers)
2008 — Brett Favre (Green Bay Packers)
2009 — Kurt Warner (Arizona Cardinals)
2010 — Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints)
2011 — Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers)
2012 — Tim Tebow (Denver Broncos)
2013 — Tony Gonzalez (Atlanta Falcons)
2014 — Russell Wilson (Seattle Seahawks)
2015 — Richard Sherman (Seattle Seahawks)
2016 — Thomas Davis (Carolina Panthers)
2017 — Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona Cardinals)
2018 — Chris Long (Philadelphia Eagles)
2019 — Chris Long (Philadelphia Eagles)
2020 — Eli Manning (New York Giants)
2021 — Philip Rivers (Indianapolis Colts)
2022 — Cameron Heyward (Pittsburgh Steelers)
2023 — Jason Kelce (Philadelphia Eagles)

YEARLY FINALISTS (winners in bold)
2005 —Tiki Barber (New York Giants RB), Jerome Bettis (Pittsburgh Steelers RB), Brett Favre (Green Bay Packers QB), Troy Vincent (Buffalo Bills CB), Kurt Warner (Arizona Cardinals QB)
2006 — Champ Bailey (Denver Broncos CB), Tiki Barber (New York Giants RB), Pete Kendall (New York Jets G), John Lynch (Denver Broncos S), Mack Strong (Seattle Seahawks FB), Troy Vincent (Buffalo Bills), Hines Ward (Pittsburgh Steelers WR)
2007 — Jeff Saturday (Indianapolis Colts C), Troy Vincent (Buffalo Bills/Washington Redskins S/NFLPA President), LaDainian Tomlinson (San Diego Chargers RB), Plaxico Burress (New York Giants WR), Champ Bailey (Denver Broncos CB)
2008 — Brett Favre (Green Bay Packers QB), Bob Sanders (Indianapolis Colts S), Darren Sharper (Minnesota Vikings S), Fred Taylor (Jacksonville Jaguars RB), Jason Taylor (Miami Dolphins DE)
2009 — Brian Dawkins (Philadelphia Eagles S), Deuce McAllister (New Orleans Saints RB), LaDainian Tomlinson (San Diego Chargers RB), Kurt Warner (Arizona Cardinals QB), Jason Witten (Dallas Cowboys TE)
2010 — Gary Brackett, Indianapolis Colts LB), Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints QB), Keith Bulluck (Tennessee Titans LB), Matt Hasselbeck (Seattle Seahawks QB), Philip Rivers (San Diego Chargers QB)
2011 — Deion Branch (New England Patriots WR), Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints QB), Jordan Gross (Carolina Panthers T), Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers QB), Bart Scott (Baltimore Ravens LB)
2012 — Gary Brackett (Indianapolis Colts LB), Philip Rivers (San Diego Chargers QB), Tim Tebow (Denver Broncos QB), Jared Allen (Minnesota Vikings DE)
2013 — Tony Gonzalez (Atlanta Falcons TE), Andrew Luck (Indianapolis Colts QB), Adrian Peterson (Minnesota Vikings RB), Alex Smith (San Francisco 49ers QB)
2014 — Andre Johnson (Houston Texans WR), Peyton Manning (Denver Broncos QB), Richard Sherman (Seattle Seahawks CB), Kevin Williams (Minnesota Vikings DT), Russell Wilson (Seattle Seahawks QB)
2015 — Frank Gore (San Francisco 49ers RB), Andre Johnson (Houston Texans WR), Matt Ryan (Atlanta Falcons QB), Richard Sherman (Seattle Seahawks CB), Jason Witten (Dallas Cowboys TE)
2016 — Calais Campbell (Arizona Cardinals DE), Thomas Davis (Carolina Panthers LB), Lane Johnson (Philadelphia Eagles T), DeMarcus Ware (Denver Broncos LB), Eric Winston (Cincinnati Bengals T)
2017 — Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona Cardinals WR), Malcolm Jenkins (Philadelphia Eagles S), Matt Ryan (Atlanta Falcons QB), Matthew Slater (New England Patriots WR/ST), Jason Witten (Dallas Cowboys TE)
2018 — Calais Campbell (Jacksonville Jaguars DT), Malcolm Jenkins (Philadelphia Eagles S), Chris Long (Philadelphia Eagles DE), Josh McCown (New York Jets QB), Joe Thomas (Cleveland Browns T), Jason Witten (Dallas Cowboys TE)
2019 — Prince Amukamara (Chicago Bears CB), Chris Long (Philadelphia Eagles DE), Devin McCourty (New England Patriots S), Philip Rivers (Los Angeles Chargers QB), Joe Staley (San Francisco 49ers T), Eric Weddle (Baltimore Ravens S)
2020 — Lorenzo Alexander (Buffalo Bills LB), Stephon Gilmore (New England Patriots CB), Eli Manning (New York Giants QB), Philip Rivers (Los Angeles Chargers QB), Justin Simmons (Denver Broncos S), Joe Staley (San Francisco 49ers T)
2021 — Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints QB), Calais Campbell (Baltimore Ravens DE), Philip Rivers (Indianapolis Colts QB), Logan Ryan (New York Giants CB), Justin Simmons (Denver Broncos S)
2022 — Cameron Heyward (Pittsburgh Steelers DT), Terry McLaurin (Washington Football Team WR), Justin Simmons (Denver Broncos S), C.J. Uzomah (Cincinnati Bengals TE)
2023 — Brandon Graham (Philadelphia Eagles DE), Josh Jacobs (Las Vegas Raiders RB), Ted Karras (Cincinnati Bengals C), Jason Kelce (Philadelphia Eagles C), Terry McLaurin (Washington Commanders WR)