NFL Network’s Mike Mayock selected as PFWA 2017 Jack Horrigan Award winner

NFL Network analyst and draft expert Mike Mayock, a former NFL defensive back who is considered one of the most knowledgeable people on NFL personnel issues and the NFL Draft, has been selected as the 2017 Jack Horrigan Award winner by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA).

Mike Mayock (Photo Credit: NFL)

Mayock, the 45th Horrigan Award winner, is the seventh person who has worked for the NFL in some capacity to receive the honor, joining Joe Browne (1985), Leslie Hammond (1995), Greg Aiello (1999), Steve Alic (2007), Gil Brandt (2010) and Mike Signora (2013).

The Horrigan Award is given to the league or club official for his or her qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job. The award is named for Horrigan, who was a sportswriter for UPI and the Buffalo Evening News, public relations director for the American Football League (1963-66) and vice president of public relations for the Buffalo Bills (1966-73).

Mayock was nominated for the Horrigan Award for how he shares his personnel knowledge about the NFL Scouting Combine and the NFL Draft with reporters during his frequent interviews and teleconferences throughout the year.

Other 2017 nominees for the Horrigan Award were former NFL Senior VP of Officiating Dean Blandino, Dallas Cowboys Owner/President/General Manager Jerry Jones, NFL VP of Communications Brian McCarthy and Minnesota Vikings general manager Rick Spielman.

Mike Mayock on the set of Mayock’s 2017 Mock Draft. (Photo Credit: NFL/Ben Liebenberg)

As one of the most well-respected NFL Draft experts among media, NFL front office personnel and team scouting departments, Mayock’s expertise is featured within NFL Network’s exclusive coverage of the Reese’s Senior Bowl and NFL Scouting Combine, as well as the NFL Draft. A 10th-round pick in the 1981 NFL Draft by the Pittsburgh Steelers, Mayock played for the New York Giants from 1982-83. He is a member of the Boston College Hall of Fame, where he starred in football and baseball.

“Mike is a tireless worker whose love and passion for the draft have helped take it to a new level of interest for fans across the country,” said Houston Chronicle NFL writer and former PFWA president John McClain. “He’s the very best at what he does, and he’s willing to share his insight and expertise selflessly.”

ABOUT THE PFWA: The Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) is the official voice of pro football writers, promoting and fighting for access to NFL personnel to best serve the public. The PFWA is made up of accredited writers who cover the NFL and the 32 teams daily. Jim Trotter, who is a NFL reporter for ESPN, is the organization’s president for the 2017-18 seasons, while Bleacher Report national columnist Dan Pompei is the PFWA’s first vice-president and Newsday’s Bob Glauber is the organization’s second vice-president. Follow the PFWA at and on Twitter at @PFWAwriters.

NOTE: After extensive research, the Horrigan Award history has been corrected from 1973-75. What follows is the corrected list of winners. The Horrigan Award is given for the previous season.

JACK HORRIGAN AWARD WINNERS (To the league or club official for his or her qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job) Year indicates when award was presented for previous season: 1973 – John Breen (Houston Oilers); 1974 – O.J. Simpson (Buffalo Bills); 1975 – Art Rooney (Pittsburgh Steelers); 1976 – Floyd Little (Denver Broncos); 1977 – Jerry Wynn (San Diego Chargers); 1978 – Bob Peck (Denver Broncos); 1979 – John Madden (Oakland Raiders); 1980 – Bum Phillips (Houston Oilers); 1981 – Bob Sprenger (Kansas City Chiefs); 1982 – Joe Gordon (Pittsburgh Steelers); 1983 – Archie Manning (New Orleans Saints/Houston Oilers); 1984 – Art Rooney (Pittsburgh Steelers); 1985 – Joe Browne (NFL); 1986 – Dick Steinberg (New England Patriots); 1987 – Charlie Dayton (Atlanta Falcons); 1988 – Art Modell (Cleveland Browns); 1989 – Tom Landry (Dallas Cowboys); 1990 – George Young (New York Giants); 1991 – Jim Finks (New Orleans Saints); 1992 – John Robinson (Los Angeles Rams); 1993 – Warren Moon (Houston Oilers); 1994 – Don Shula (Miami Dolphins); 1995 – Leslie Hammond (NFL); 1996 – Ron Wolf (Green Bay Packers); 1997 – Don Smith (Pro Football Hall of Fame); 1998 – Tony Dungy (Tampa Bay Buccaneers); 1999 – Greg Aiello (NFL); 2000 – Ernie Accorsi (New York Giants); 2001 – Jeff Fisher (Tennessee Titans); 2002 – Charley Casserly (Houston Texans); 2003 – Herman Edwards (New York Jets); 2004 – Ozzie Newsome (Baltimore Ravens); 2005 – Rich McKay (Atlanta Falcons); 2006 – Floyd Reese (Tennessee Titans); 2007 – Steve Alic (NFL); 2008 – Mike Holmgren (Seattle Seahawks); 2009 – Dan Rooney (Pittsburgh Steelers); 2010 – Gil Brandt (; 2011 – Rex Ryan (New York Jets); 2012 – Thomas Dimitroff (Atlanta Falcons); 2013 – Mike Signora (NFL); 2014 – Pete Carroll (Seattle Seahawks); 2015 – Bruce Arians (Arizona Cardinals); 2016 – John Elway (Denver Broncos); 2017 – Mike Mayock (NFL Network).

, , , , ,

© 2013-2024 Pro Football Writers of America.
All Rights Reserved.

Designed by Chris Pika