Seahawks’ Richard Sherman selected as PFWA 2015 Good Guy Award winner

Seattle cornerback Richard Sherman, who helped the Seahawks to their second Super Bowl appearance in as many seasons, has been selected as the 2015 Good Guy Award winner by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA).

Sherman, the 11th Good Guy Award winner, is the second consecutive member of the Seahawks to receive the honor from the PFWA as quarterback Russell Wilson was the 2014 Good Guy honoree.

The Good Guy Award is given to a NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping pro football writers do their jobs. The award was first given by the PFWA in 2005.

“Not only is Richard Sherman one  of the top cover guys on defense, he’s one of the absolute best for media coverage,” said ESPN’s John Clayton. “He’s smart. Because he studies every aspect of the game, he’s perhaps the best resource for knowledge of the current game I’ve ever run across. He’s willing to be outspoken and quotable. And he’s always available to the media. He epitomizes the Good Guy Award.”

Richard Sherman

Seattle Seahawks CB Richard Sherman (Photo Credit: Seattle Seahawks)

Sherman started all 16 games in 2014, registering 57 total tackles (45 solo), a team-leading four interceptions and a forced fumble as the Seahawks finished 12-4 and earned the NFC’s No. 1 seed. He had a career-high-tying eight tackles against Dallas on Oct. 12, and his two interceptions at San Francisco on Nov. 27 tied a career high and earned him Week 13 NFC Defensive Player of the Week honors.

He was voted to the PFWA’s All-NFL team in 2014, Sherman’s third-consecutive season receiving PFWA All-NFL honors.

In the playoffs, Sherman had 10 total tackles (seven solo), two interceptions and three passes defensed. He had an interception in the NFC Divisional Playoff against Carolina, his first career postseason pick. Sherman followed that up with a first-quarter interception of Green Bay’s Aaron Rodgers in the end zone in the NFC Championship Game that the Seahawks rallied to win 28-22 in overtime. In Super Bowl XLIX, he had three total tackles (two solo) against the New England Patriots.

“Richard does everything he can to not only cooperate with the media, but also give reporters interesting and insightful information that helps explain many situations in great detail,” said’s Terry Blount. “I know nationally he is viewed as an over-the-top, cocky guy, but Richard’s actual personality is one of kindness and caring with people who need his time and attention.”

ABOUT THE PFWA: The Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) is the official voice of pro football writers, promoting and fighting for access to NFL personnel to best serve the public. The PFWA is made up of accredited writers who cover the NFL and the 32 teams on a daily basis. Jeff Legwold, who covers the Denver Broncos for, is the organization’s president for 2015-17, while Bleacher Report national columnist Dan Pompei is the PFWA’s first vice-president  and ESPN’s Jim Trotter is the organization’s second vice-president. Follow the PFWA at and on Twitter at @PFWAwriters.

GOOD GUY AWARD WINNERS (To a NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job): 2005 – Jerome Bettis (Pittsburgh Steelers); 2006 – Tiki Barber (New York Giants); 2007 – LaDainian Tomlinson (San Diego Chargers); 2008 – Brett Favre (Green Bay Packers); 2009 – Kurt Warner (Arizona Cardinals); 2010 – Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints); 2011 – Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers); 2012 – Tim Tebow (Denver Broncos); 2013 – Tony Gonzalez (Atlanta Falcons); 2014 – Russell Wilson (Seattle Seahawks); 2015 – Richard Sherman (Seattle Seahawks).

, , , , ,

© 2013-2024 Pro Football Writers of America.
All Rights Reserved.

Designed by Chris Pika