PFWA to announce 2017 Off-Field Awards June 12-19

The Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) will announce their 2017 Off-Field Award winners during the week of June 12-16 and Monday, June 19, 2017.

The announcements will be made at, through the PFWA’s official Twitter feed (@PFWAwriters) and via email to PFWA members and NFL league and club PR staffs each day at 1 pm ET.

Monday, June 12: George Halas Award (NFL player, coach or staff member who overcomes the most adversity to succeed)

Nominees: Tom Brady (New England), Jason Pierre-Paul (New York Giants), Dennis Pitta (Baltimore), David Quessenberry (Houston), Cameron Wake (Miami).

Tuesday, June 13: Good Guy Award (NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping pro football writers do their jobs)

Nominees: Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona), Malcolm Jenkins (Philadelphia), Matt Ryan (Atlanta), Matthew Slater (New England) and Jason Witten (Dallas).

Wednesday, June 14: Dick McCann Award (Reporter who has made a long and distinguished contribution to pro football through coverage)

Nominees: Ron Borges (Boston Herald), Vinny DiTrani (Bergen Record – retired), Jeff Legwold (, Adam Schefter ( and Ed Werder (former ESPN).

Thursday, June 15: Jack Horrigan Award (League or club official for his or her qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job)

Nominees: Dean Blandino (former NFL SVP of officiating), Jerry Jones (Dallas owner/president/GM), Mike Mayock (NFL Network analyst), Brian McCarthy (NFL VP of communications) and Rick Spielman (Minnesota GM).

Friday, June 16: Pete Rozelle Award (NFL club public relations staff that consistently strives for excellence in its dealings and relationships with the media)

Nominees: Baltimore, Cincinnati, Houston, Miami and Tampa Bay.

Monday, June 19: Paul “Dr. Z” Zimmerman Award (Lifetime achievement as an assistant coach in the NFL)

Nominees: Bud Carson, Gunther Cunningham, Bruce DeHaven, Jim Hanifan and Bobb McKittrick.

, , , , , , , , ,

© 2013-2024 Pro Football Writers of America.
All Rights Reserved.

Designed by Chris Pika