PFWA to announce 2019 Off-Field Awards June 3-7 and June 10

The Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) will announce their 2019 Off-Field Award winners June 3-7 and June 10, 2019.

The announcements will be made at, through the PFWA’s official Twitter feed (@PFWAwriters) and via email to PFWA members and NFL league and club PR staffs each day at 1 pm ET.

Monday, June 3: George Halas Award (NFL player, coach or staff member who overcomes the most adversity to succeed)

Nominees: James Conner (Pittsburgh), Dave Gettleman (general manager, New York Giants), Andre Hall (Houston-retired), Andrew Luck (Indianapolis) and Ryan Shazier (Pittsburgh).

Tuesday, June 4: Good Guy Award (NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping pro football writers do their jobs)

Nominees:  Prince Amukamara (Chicago), Chris Long (Philadelphia-retired), Devin McCourty (New England), Philip Rivers (Los Angeles Chargers), Joe Staley (San Francisco) and Eric Weddle (Baltimore).

Wednesday, June 5: Dick McCann Award (Reporter who has made a long and distinguished contribution to pro football through coverage)

Nominees: Jarrett Bell (USA Today), Vinny DiTrani (Bergen Record-retired), Sam Farmer (Los Angeles Times), Clark Judge (Talk of Fame Network), Jeff Legwold ( and Gary Myers (The Athletic).

Thursday, June 6: Jack Horrigan Award (League or club official for his or her qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job)

Nominees: Chris Ballard (Indianapolis GM), Jerry Jones (Dallas owner/president/GM), Joe Horrigan (Pro Football Hall of Fame executive director), Andrew Howard (NFL Network communications manager) and Sean McVay (Los Angeles Rams head coach).

Friday, June 7: Pete Rozelle Award (NFL club public relations staff that consistently strives for excellence in its dealings and relationships with the media)

Nominees: Baltimore, Buffalo, Denver, Houston, Los Angeles Rams and New England.

Monday, June 10: Paul “Dr. Z” Zimmerman Award (Lifetime achievement as an assistant coach in the NFL) – two honorees

Nominees: Gunther Cunningham, Rod Marinelli, Bobb McKittrick, Terry Robiskie and Mike Westhoff.

, , , , , , , , ,

© 2013-2024 Pro Football Writers of America.
All Rights Reserved.

Designed by Chris Pika