49ers’ Bosa PFWA Rookie and Defensive Rookie of the Year, Raiders’ Jacobs Offensive Rookie of the Year; 2019 All-Rookie Team named

San Francisco 49ers defensive end Nick Bosa, who posted nine sacks and led the NFL with 25 quarterback hits, was selected as the 2019 Rookie of the Year and the Defensive Rookie of the Year, chosen in voting conducted by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA).

Oakland Raiders running back Josh Jacobs, who led all NFL rookies in rushing yards and rushing touchdowns, was selected as the 2019 Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Bosa, the second overall selection in the 2019 NFL Draft out of Ohio State, played in all 16 games (14 starts) and registered 47 tackles (16 for loss), nine sacks, one interception, two passes defensed, two fumble recoveries and one forced fumble. His nine sacks were third among all NFL rookies (fourth-most all-time by a 49ers rookie) and his 16 tackles for loss were tied for fifth among all NFL players. He had four tackles, three sacks, an interception and a pass defense vs. Carolina on October 27 to become just the third rookie since 1982 to have three sacks and an interception in the same game. Bosa was named NFC Player of the Week twice (Weeks 5 & 8) and earned both NFC Defensive Player of the Month and NFC Rookie of the Month honors in October. He posted a pair of multi-sack games and a season high of eight total tackles vs. Seattle on November 11.

Embed from Getty Images

Bosa is the first 49ers player to be selected as the PFWA’s Rookie of the Year and the fifth San Francisco player to receive Defensive Player of the Years honors – the first since 2011 when outside linebacker Aldon Smith won the Defensive Rookie award.

Jacobs, the 24th overall selection in the 2019 NFL Draft out of Alabama, started 13 games and rushed for 1,150 yards with seven touchdowns and added 20 receptions for 166 yards. He became the first rookie and just the 12th player in Raiders history to rush for 1,000 yards in a single season. Jacobs was the first player in franchise history to record two rushing touchdowns in his NFL debut in Week 1. He tied for the fourth-most 100-yard rushing performances (five) during a single season in franchise history. Jacobs finished first amongst all rookie rushers in the NFL in rushing yards (1,150) and rushing touchdowns (seven). Jacobs was the first rookie in franchise history to earn two NFL Offensive Rookie of the Month honors (October and November), while racking up five 100-yard performances, and he broke RB Marcus Allen’s franchise rookie rushing record set in 1982 for total rushing yards and 100-yard contests.

Embed from Getty Images

Jacobs is the second Raiders player to be selected Offensive Rookie of the Year, joining running back Marcus Allen in 1982.

The New Orleans Saints led all clubs with three All-Rookie selections with cornerback Chauncey Gardner-Johnson, punt returner Deonte Harris and center Erik McCoy. The Cleveland Browns, Denver Broncos, Kansas City Chiefs, Green Bay Packers, Jacksonville Jaguars, 49ers and Tampa Bay Buccaneers each had two selections each. In all, 18 clubs are represented among the 27 players honored.

The All-Rookie team offense includes Arizona quarterback Kyler Murray, Jacobs and Philadelphia’s Miles Sanders at running back, Tennessee’s A.J. Brown and Washington’s Terry McLaurin at wide receiver, Denver’s Noah Fant at tight end, McCoy at center, Green Bay’s Elgton Jenkins and Denver’s Dalton Risner at guard and Houston’s Tytus Howard along with Jacksonville’s Jawaan Taylor at tackle.

The All-Rookie defense includes defensive linemen Josh Allen (Jacksonville), Bosa, Dexter Lawrence (New York Giants) and Buffalo’s Ed Oliver, linebackers Devin Bush (Pittsburgh), Dre Greenlaw (San Francisco) and Devin White (Tampa Bay), Gardner-Johnson and Tampa Bay’s Sean Murphy-Bunting at cornerback and Green Bay’s Darnell Savage and Kansas City’s Juan Thornhill at safety.

Placekicker Austin Seibert (Cleveland), punter Jamie Gillan (Cleveland), kickoff returner Mecole Hardman (Kansas City), Harris at punt returner and special teamer Drue Tranquill (Los Angeles Chargers) make up the All-Rookie special teams unit.

The PFWA has awarded an All-Rookie team every season since 1974.

2019 ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: DE Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers

2019 OFFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: RB Josh Jacobs, Oakland Raiders

2019 DEFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: DE Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers



QB – Kyler Murray, Arizona Cardinals

RB – Josh Jacobs, Oakland Raiders; Miles Sanders, Philadelphia Eagles

WR – A.J. Brown, Tennessee Titans; Terry McLaurin, Washington Redskins

TE – Noah Fant, Denver Broncos

C – Erik McCoy, New Orleans Saints

G – Elgton Jenkins, Green Bay Packers; Dalton Risner, Denver Broncos

T – Tytus Howard, Houston Texans; Jawaan Taylor, Jacksonville Jaguars


DL – Josh Allen, Jacksonville Jaguars; Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers; Dexter Lawrence, New York Giants; Ed Oliver, Buffalo Bills

LB – Devin Bush, Pittsburgh Steelers; Dre Greenlaw, San Francisco 49ers; Devin White, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

CB – Chauncey Gardner-Johnson, New Orleans Saints; Sean Murphy-Bunting, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

S – Darnell Savage, Green Bay Packers; Juan Thornhill, Kansas City Chiefs

Special Teams

PK – Austin Seibert, Cleveland Browns

P – Jamie Gillan, Cleveland Browns

KR – Mecole Hardman, Kansas City Chiefs

PR – Deonte Harris, New Orleans Saints

ST – Drue Tranquill, Los Angeles Chargers

PFWA NFL ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: 1966 – MLB Tommy Nobis, Atlanta Falcons; 1967-75 – no selections; 1976 – WR Sammy White, Minnesota Vikings; 1977 – RB Tony Dorsett, Dallas Cowboys; 1978 – RB Earl Campbell, Houston Oilers; 1979 – RB Ottis Anderson, St. Louis Cardinals; 1980 – RB Billy Sims, Detroit Lions; 1981 – RB George Rogers, New Orleans Saints; 1982 – RB Marcus Allen, Los Angeles Raiders; 1983 – RB Eric Dickerson, Los Angeles Rams; 1984 – WR/KR Louis Lipps, Pittsburgh Steelers; 1985 – WR Eddie Brown, Cincinnati Bengals; 1986 – RB Rueben Mayes, New Orleans Saints; 1987 – ILB Shane Conlan, Buffalo Bills; 1988 – RB John Stephens, New England Patriots; 1990 – S Mark Carrier, Chicago Bears; 1991 – OLB Mike Croel, Denver Broncos; 1992-2012 – no selections; 2013 – RB Eddie Lacy, Green Bay Packers; 2014 – WR Odell Beckham, Jr., New York Giants; 2015 – RB Todd Gurley, St. Louis Rams; 2016 – RB Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys; 2017 – RB Kareem Hunt, Kansas City Chiefs; 2018 – QB Baker Mayfield, Cleveland Browns; 2019 – DE Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers.

ABOUT THE PFWA: In its 56th season in 2019, the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) is the official voice of pro football writers, promoting and fighting for access to NFL personnel to best serve the public. The PFWA is made up of accredited writers who cover the NFL and the 32 teams daily. Bob Glauber, the national football columnist for Newsday, is the organization’s president for the 2018-20 seasons. The Athletic’s Lindsay Jones is the PFWA’s first vice-president, The Athletic’s Dan Pompei is the PFWA’s second vice-president and The Athletic’s Mike Sando is the PFWA secretary-treasurer. At-large members include ESPN.com’s Jeff Legwold, ProFootballtalk.com’s Charean WilliamsSports Illustrated’s Jenny Vrentas and USA Today’sMike JonesFollow the PFWA at ProFootballWriters.org and on Twitter at @PFWAwriters.