Giants’ Eli Manning selected as PFWA 2020 Good Guy Award winner

Recently retired New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning, who was praised for his dealings with local and national media during his career, has been selected as the 2020 Good Guy Award winner by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA).

Manning, the 16th Good Guy Award winner, is the second member of the Giants’ franchise to win the award, joining Tiki Barber (2006).

Other nominees for the Good Guy Award were recently retired Buffalo Bills linebacker Lorenzo Alexander, New England Patriots cornerback Stephon Gilmore, former Los Angeles Chargers, now Indianapolis Colts quarterback Philip Rivers, Denver Broncos safety Justin Simmons and recently retired San Francisco 49ers offensive tackle Joe Staley.

The Good Guy Award is given to an NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping pro football writers do their jobs. The award has been presented annually by the PFWA since 2005.

Manning earned praise for his body of work in his dealings with the media over the course of his career.

“Eli Manning exemplified professionalism with the media since his rookie season in 2004, and he did so in the league’s largest market,” said PFWA president and Newsday NFL columnist Bob Glauber, who covered Manning during his entire career. “Eli often spoke of the example set by his father and being around Archie Manning was certainly a great way to learn about being around the media. Even so, playing in New York has unique pressures that Eli dealt with consistently and fairly. Media sessions at his locker would often start with as many as 50 reporters, photographers and camera operators, but he answered every last question – even when only one reporter was left. A pro’s pro.”

After Manning was the Giants’ starting quarterback for almost every game in his first 15 years in the league, he was replaced by first-round pick Daniel Jones at quarterback after the first two games of 2019. Jones started the next 10 games, but after an ankle injury, Manning returned as the starter for two more contests, including an emotional 36-20 victory at home over Miami in Week 15, in which he threw for a pair of touchdowns before being lifted from the game to a standing ovation from Giants fans.

Manning announced his retirement January 24, 2020 to close his 16-season career, which included a pair of Super Bowl victories and Super Bowl MVP trophies (XLII and XLVI), both over the New England Patriots. He threw for over 57,000 yards and 366 touchdowns in his career.

ABOUT THE PFWA: In its 57th season in 2020, the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) is the official voice of pro football writers, promoting and fighting for access to NFL personnel to best serve the public. The PFWA is made up of accredited writers who cover the NFL and the 32 teams daily. Bob Glauber, the national football columnist for Newsday, is the organization’s president for the 2018-20 seasons and the organization’s 29th president. The Athletic’s Lindsay Jones is the PFWA’s first vice-president, The Athletic’s Dan Pompei is the PFWA’s second vice-president and The Athletic’s Mike Sando is the PFWA secretary-treasurer. At-large members include’s Jeff Legwold,’s Charean Williams, Sports Illustrated’s Jenny Vrentas and USA Today’s Mike Jones. Follow the PFWA at and on Twitter at @PFWAwriters.

GOOD GUY AWARD WINNERS (To a NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job) Year indicates when award was presented for previous season: 2005 – Jerome Bettis (Pittsburgh Steelers); 2006 – Tiki Barber (New York Giants); 2007 – LaDainian Tomlinson (San Diego Chargers); 2008 – Brett Favre (Green Bay Packers); 2009 – Kurt Warner (Arizona Cardinals); 2010 – Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints); 2011 – Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers); 2012 – Tim Tebow (Denver Broncos); 2013 – Tony Gonzalez (Atlanta Falcons); 2014 – Russell Wilson (Seattle Seahawks); 2015 – Richard Sherman (Seattle Seahawks); 2016 – Thomas Davis (Carolina Panthers); 2017 – Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona Cardinals); 2018 – Chris Long (Philadelphia Eagles); 2019 – Chris Long (Philadelphia Eagles); 2020 – Eli Manning (New York Giants)

, , , , ,

© 2013-2024 Pro Football Writers of America.
All Rights Reserved.

Designed by Chris Pika