PFWA to announce 2021 Off-Field Awards June 7-11 and June 14-15

The Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) will announce their 2021 Off-Field Award winners June 7-11 and June 14-15, 2021.

The announcements will be made at, through the PFWA’s official Twitter feed (@PFWAwriters) and via email to PFWA members and NFL league and club PR staffs each day at 3 pm ET.

Monday, June 7: George Halas Award (NFL player, coach or staff member who overcomes the most adversity to succeed)

Nominees: LB Darius Leonard, Indianapolis Colts, Head Coach Ron Rivera, Washington Football Team, QB Alex Smith, Washington Football Team (retired) and RB James White, New England Patriots

Tuesday, June 8: Good Guy Award (NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping pro football writers do their jobs)

Nominees: QB Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints (retired), DE Calais Campbell, Baltimore Ravens, QB Philip Rivers, Indianapolis Colts (retired), CB Logan Ryan, New York Giants and S Justin Simmons, Denver Broncos

Wednesday, June 9: Career Achievement Award (Reporter who has made a long and distinguished contribution to pro football through coverage)

Nominees: Jarrett Bell (USA Today), Vic Carucci (Buffalo News), Bob Glauber (Newsday), Jeff Legwold ( and Barry Wilner (Associated Press)

Thursday, June 10: Jack Horrigan Award (League, club or other official for his or her qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job)

Nominees: Brandon Beane (Buffalo GM), Jerry Jones (Dallas owner/president/GM), Brian McCarthy (NFL VP, communications), Dr. Allen Sills (NFL chief medical officer), DeMaurice Smith (NFLPA executive director) and Troy Vincent (NFL EVP, football operations)

Friday, June 11: Pete Rozelle Award (NFL club public relations staff that consistently strives for excellence in its dealings and relationships with the media)

Nominees: Denver, New England, Pittsburgh, Tampa Bay and Tennessee

Monday, June 14: Paul “Dr. Z” Zimmerman Award (Lifetime achievement as an assistant coach in the NFL) – two honorees

Nominees: Rod Marinelli, Bobb McKittrick, Floyd Peters, John Teerlinck and Bobby Turner Tuesday, June 15: Terez A. Paylor Emerging Writer Award

Nominees: Michael-Shawn Dugar (The Athletic), Jori Epstein (USA Today), Amie Just (New Orleans Times-Picayune | New Orleans Advocate), Jourdan Rodrigue (The Athletic) and Cam Wolfe (  

, , , , , , , , ,