PFWA to announce 2024 Off-Field Awards May 28-31 and June 3-5

The Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) will announce the 2024 Off-Field Award winners May 28-31 and June 3-5, 2024.

The announcements will be made at, through the PFWA’s official Twitter feed (@PFWAwriters) and via email to PFWA members and NFL league and club PR staffs each day at 1 pm ET.

Tuesday, May 28: George Halas Award (NFL player, coach or staff member who overcomes the most adversity to succeed)

Finalists: Joe Flacco (Cleveland Browns QB), John Metchie III (Houston Texans WR), Tua Tagovailoa (Miami Dolphins QB)

Wednesday, May 29: Good Guy Award (NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping pro football writers do their jobs)

Finalists: Joel Bitonio (Cleveland Browns G), Dion Dawkins (Buffalo Bills T), Brandon Graham (Philadelphia Eagles DE), Dak Prescott (Dallas Cowboys QB), C.J. Stroud (Houston Texans QB)

Thursday, May 30: Bill Nunn Jr. Award (Reporter who has made a long and distinguished contribution to pro football through coverage)

Finalists: Mary Kay Cabot (Cleveland Plain Dealer), Vic Carucci (, D. Orlando Ledbetter (Atlanta Journal-Constitution), Jeff Legwold (, Barry Wilner (Associated Press)

Friday, May 31: Horrigan Award (League, club or other official for his or her qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job)

Finalists: John Lynch (San Francisco 49ers GM), Brian McCarthy (NFL VP of communications), Les Snead (Los Angeles Rams GM), Troy Vincent (NFL EVP of football operations)

Monday, June 3: Pete Rozelle Award (NFL club public relations staff that consistently strives for excellence in its dealings and relationships with the media)

Finalists:  Dallas CowboysLas Vegas RaidersLos Angeles RamsMiami DolphinsSan Francisco 49ers

Tuesday, June 4: Paul “Dr. Z” Zimmerman Award (Lifetime achievement as an assistant coach in the NFL)

Finalists: Larry BeightolBill CallahanTom CatlinSteve SpagnuoloJeff Stoutland

Wednesday, June 5: Terez A. Paylor Emerging Writer Award (Young NFL writer who carries on the legacy of Paylor through his or her work ethic, professionalism, and dedication to the craft and commitment to improving diversity in NFL media)

Finalists: Ben Arthur (Fox Sports), DJ Bien-Aime (, Katherine Fitzgerald (Buffalo News), Daniel Oyefusi (Miami Herald), Colton Pouncy (The Athletic), Kris Rhim (

, , , , , , , , , ,

© 2013-2024 Pro Football Writers of America.
All Rights Reserved.

Designed by Chris Pika