Texans’ C.J. Stroud selected as PFWA 2024 Good Guy Award winner

Houston Texans quarterback C.J. Stroud, who was praised for his dealings with local and national media during the previous season, has been selected as the 2024 Good Guy Award winner by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA).

Stroud, the 20th Good Guy Award winner, is the first member of the Texans franchise to win the award.

Other finalists for the Good Guy Award were Cleveland Browns guard Joel Bitonio, Buffalo Bills tackle Dion Dawkins, Philadelphia Eagles defensive end Brandon Graham and Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott.

The Good Guy Award is given to an NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping pro football writers do their jobs. The award has been presented annually by the PFWA since 2005.

Embed from Getty Images

Stroud, the second overall selection in the 2023 NFL Draft by Houston, made an immediate impact on the field with his play, in the locker room with reporters covering the Texans daily and in the greater Houston community.

“Stroud is the Good Guy Award winner because of his professionalism and openness with both the national and local media. He is always available during the week and after games, win or lose. He understands the media has a job to do and answers each question thoroughly,” said PFWA Houston chapter co-vice president Jonathan Alexander, who covers the Texans for the Houston Chronicle. “He is also active in the Houston community without seeking attention, recently volunteering to remove trees and clean up debris from yards in underserved communities after a storm left many residents without power for several days.”

“First and foremost, I want to give all glory and praise to my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. It’s a blessing to be recognized as the PFWA Good Guy Award winner, and it stands out to me because it’s more of an award that embodies someone’s character rather than the stats they compile on the field, Stroud said. “I appreciate the job the media has and thank them for choosing me as someone who is deserving of this honor. A special shoutout to the other very deserving players who were nominated and those that won before me.”

The 2023 PFWA NFL Rookie of the Year and Offensive Rookie of the Year, Stroud started all 15 games he appeared in, and he finished the regular season completing 319 of 499 passes for 4,108 yards, 23 touchdowns and only five interceptions while posting a passer rating of 100.8. The 4,108 yards were third most by a rookie quarterback in NFL history, and his TD-interception ratio of 4.6 led the league – the youngest player to pace the league in that category. Stroud also started the season with 191 consecutive passes without an interception – an NFL mark to start a career.

Stroud was the 2023 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Month twice in September and November, the AFC Offensive Player of the Month for November, and he was selected as the AFC Offensive Player of the Week twice (Weeks 9 and 18).

GOOD GUY AWARD WINNERS (To a NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job) Year indicates when award was presented for previous season: 2005 – Jerome Bettis (Pittsburgh Steelers); 2006 – Tiki Barber (New York Giants); 2007 – LaDainian Tomlinson (San Diego Chargers); 2008 – Brett Favre (Green Bay Packers); 2009 – Kurt Warner (Arizona Cardinals); 2010 – Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints); 2011 – Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers); 2012 – Tim Tebow (Denver Broncos); 2013 – Tony Gonzalez (Atlanta Falcons); 2014 – Russell Wilson (Seattle Seahawks); 2015 – Richard Sherman (Seattle Seahawks); 2016 – Thomas Davis (Carolina Panthers); 2017 – Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona Cardinals); 2018 – Chris Long (Philadelphia Eagles); 2019 – Chris Long (Philadelphia Eagles); 2020 – Eli Manning (New York Giants); 2021 – Philip Rivers (Indianapolis Colts); 2022 – Cameron Heyward (Pittsburgh Steelers); 2023 – Jason Kelce (Philadelphia Eagles); 2024 – C.J. Stroud (Houston Texans)

ABOUT THE PFWA: In its 61st season in 2024, the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) is the official voice of pro football writers, promoting and fighting for access to NFL personnel to best serve the public. The PFWA is made up of accredited writers who cover the NFL and the 32 teams daily. Calvin Watkins of the Dallas Morning News is the PFWA president for the 2023-24 seasons and the organization’s 31st president. Nicki Jhabvala of the Washington Post is the PFWA’s first vice-president, Michael-Shawn Dugar of The Athletic is the second vice-president, Lindsay Jones of The Ringer is the advisor to the president and Mike Sando of The Athletic is the secretary-treasurer. At-large board members include Mike Jones of The Athletic, ESPN.com’s Jeff Legwold, Joe Reedy of the Associated Press and ProFootballTalk.com’s Charean Williams. Follow the PFWA at ProFootballWriters.org and on Twitter/X at @PFWAwriters.