
PFWA Pool Reporter Zach Berman Interview with Referee Adrian Hill
Denver Broncos vs. Philadelphia Eagles
Sunday, October 5, 2025
Question: The grounding on Bo Nix, why was that flag picked up on the field?
Adrian Hill: “So what happened there, we have an O2O – that’s our official-to-official communication system. My O2O was not working. Grounding is a teamwork foul. I had intentional grounding. The line judge had that there was a receiver in the area – 28 – but I didn’t hear the information over O2O so I threw the flag. The line judge came in and let me know that 28 indeed was in the area, and that’s why we picked up the flag.”
Question: The illegal-shift penalty – I believe it was on 26 on the Eagles. What prompted that penalty?
Hill: “Two players went in motion. So, by rule, when two players go in motion, both have to reset for a second before the snap. One player stopped, but 26 continued in motion, so that’s what created the illegal shift. They didn’t both reset for a full second.”
Question: The second-to-last play of the game, a pass to Dallas Goedert, why did that not rise to the level of pass interference?
Hill: “So our officials saw mutual hand fighting and hand-to-hand combat and did not see action that rose to the level of a foul on that play”
Question: The personal foul on Zack Baun for a late hit. It was a third-down stop in the fourth quarter. What made that a personal foul in that situation?”
Hill: “So the officials saw we had a prone player on the ground, and he came in and hit the player that was prone on the ground when the play was over.”