PFWA Pool Reporter Joel Erickson Interview with Referee Clay Martin
Indianapolis Colts vs. Houston Texans
Sunday, November 30, 2025
Question: On the third down for the Texans deep in Colts territory [fourth quarter, 14:51 remaining] it appeared there was a delay of game, and they snapped the ball a second after the play clock had expired. Why was delay of game not called on that play?
Clay Martin: The back judge is the calling official and there is a process on that. When the clock hits zero, he looks down to the ball and if the ball is snapped as he looks down from the clock to the ball, we leave that alone. That’s what he ruled on the play.
Question: Is delay of game reviewable?
Clay Martin: No sir, it’s not.
Question: On the same play, what led to the pass interference penalty on Kenny Moore? It appeared there was no contact.
Clay Martin: The calling official had an arm grab at the top of the route. When you look back, the ball was in the air, and when you see the ball in the air, that makes it pass interference.
Question: On the extra point on the touchdown on that drive, what led to it being ruled a good extra point? It appeared on replay that it was wide.
Clay Martin: The calling official had the ball above the upright and completely inside the outside edge of the upright and so he ruled a successful try. Since the ball was above the upright it’s not reviewable.