PFWA Pool Report: Pittsburgh at Baltimore – Week 14 – Dec. 7, 2025

PFWA Pool Reporter Jeff Zrebiec Interview with NFL Vice President of Instant Replay Mark Butterworth and Referee Alex Moore
Pittsburgh Steelers vs. Baltimore Ravens
Sunday, December 7, 2025

Question: What went into the decision to reverse the touchdown that was initially ruled on the field for Isaiah Likely in the fourth quarter?

Mark Butterworth: The ruling on the field was a touchdown. We quickly looked at the play. The receiver controlled the ball in the air, had his right foot down, then his left foot down. The control is the first aspect of the catch. The second aspect is two feet or a body part in bounds, which he did have. Then the third step is an act common to the game and before he could get the third foot down, the ball was ripped out. Therefore, it was an incomplete pass.

Question: So, an act common to the game, what would that constitute in the end zone? It was two-and-a-half steps before the third step went down. What would constitute an act common to the game?

Butterworth: For this play, it would be him completing the third step.

Question: So, he needed the third step in the end zone in this situation?

Butterworth: Yes, sir.

Question: The Rodgers reversal on the interception, it looked like they both kind of came down with that deflection. What went into the reversal?

Butterworth: The offensive player had control of the ball and as he was going to the ground, there was a hand in there, but he never lost control of the ball and then his knees hit the ground in control. So therefore, by rule, he is down by contact with control of the ball.

Question: So, even with mutual possession or both of them grabbing on it, the quarterback has the ball and a knee down?

Butterworth: The offense had initial control of the ball and ended up being down by contact.

Question: I’m trying to get an idea for the explanation behind the 15-yard Travis Jones unnecessary roughness call, and I was hoping you could take me through it from your perspective.

Alex Moore: The snapper by rule is a defenseless player, so the contact would be unnecessary. Basically, he ran him over.

Question: But he was heading towards the left guard. Does it matter who he contacts first?

Moore: It does not necessarily matter who is contacted first. The snapper is still by rule a defenseless player.

Question: You can’t contact him at all when you are rushing a field goal?

Moore: You cannot make any forcible contact to that player. The calling official felt like the contact rose to the level of being unnecessary against a defenseless player.