PFWA Pool Report: Green Bay at Cleveland – Week 3 – Sept. 21, 2025

PFWA Pool Reporter Scott Petrak Interview with NFL Vice President of Instant Replay Mark Butterworth
Green Bay Packers vs. Cleveland Browns
Sunday, September 21, 2025

Question: Can you just walk me through the review of the potential Josh Jacobs fumble late in the fourth quarter?

Mark Butterworth: “Yes, the on-field officials had the runner down by contact. Cleveland calls a timeout. The replay officials stops the game because he sees the ball is coming out. There was just no clear and obvious video evidence that Cleveland recovered the ball. The two available angles we had showed yellow gloves – so the offensive gloves – on the ball, and then orange gloves – so the defensive gloves – trying to grab the ball. With the ruling of down by contact, even though there was a fumble, we did not have a clear recovery by the defense. Therefore, Green Bay kept the ball.”

Question: If the on-field officials had ruled a fumble and the Browns recovered, was there evidence that the Packers recovered it or was it just not enough to tell either way?

Butterworth: “It was not enough to tell either way. Now if the on-field officials ruled that the defense had it, that does constitute a clear recovery. So, because they had the runner down by contact, we would have to find a clear and obvious recovery to overturn the call on the field.”