PFWA Pool Report: Green Bay at Detroit – Week 13 – Nov. 27, 2025

PFWA Pool Reporter Colton Pouncy Interview with NFL Vice President of Instant Replay Mark Butterworth and Referee Ron Torbert
Green Bay Packers vs. Detroit Lions
Thursday, November 27, 2025

Question: What did you see on the second quarter touchdown to Dontayvion Wicks that led you to confirm he had possession of the ball and both feet in bounds?

Mark Butterworth: The ruling on the field was a touchdown. We saw control with his right foot down and his left down in the end zone and then a third step out of the end zone.

Question: Was there any discussion about a bobble?

Butterworth: No. These receivers are that good, he controls the ball with his hand. But with his hands or arm above his body, while pulling it down, by rule, he can actually pull that ball into his body as he completes the process of a catch.

Question: What was the conversation that led to officials granting the Packers a timeout after initially calling a false start?

Ron Torbert: The timeout was called before the false start happened.

Question: It looked like Matt LaFleur was covering his mouth at the time the penalty occurred. At what point did the official hear him ask for a timeout?

Torbert: Before the false start.

Question: How did you reach the conclusion that the timeout occurred first?

Torbert: We talked about it on the field. We recognized the timeout called, and that the timeout was called before the false start.