Tag Archives | 2023


PFWA announces 2023 Dick Connor Writing Awards

Eric Branch of the San Francisco Chronicle, Tim Graham of The Athletic, Marla Ridenour of the Akron Beacon Journal, Nate Taylor of The Athletic, Josh Weinfuss of ESPN.com and Jason Wolf of the Arizona Republic earned first-place awards in the Professional Football Writers of America’s 2023 Dick Connor Writing Awards. The Connor Awards encompass beat reporting, columns, features, enterprise news/features, breaking news, and game stories written by PFWA members from post-Super […]

Continue Reading

Martindale, McKittrick, Mitchell selected as PFWA 2023 Dr. Z Award class

New York Giants defensive coordinator Don “Wink” Martindale, the late Bobb McKittrick and recently retired Pittsburgh Steelers defensive line coach John Mitchell have been selected as the 2023 Paul “Dr. Z” Zimmerman Award winners by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA). Martindale, McKittrick and Mitchell are the 21st, 22nd and 23rd recipients of the […]

Continue Reading

Washington head coach Ron Rivera selected as PFWA 2023 Horrigan Award winner

Washington Commanders head coach Ron Rivera, lauded for his professional dealings with the media who cover the league, has been selected as the 2023 Horrigan Award winner by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA). Rivera, the 51st Horrigan Award winner, is the first member of the Washington franchise to receive the award, and the […]

Continue Reading