PFWA to announce 2020 Off-Field Awards June 22-26 and June 29

The Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) will announce their 2020 Off-Field Award winners June 22-26 and June 29, 2020.

The announcements will be made at, through the PFWA’s official Twitter feed (@PFWAwriters) and via email to PFWA members and NFL league and club PR staffs each day at 1 pm ET.

Monday, June 22: George Halas Award (NFL player, coach or staff member who overcomes the most adversity to succeed)

Nominees: Bobby Engram (Baltimore TE coach), Travis Frederick (Dallas-retired), Everson Griffen (Minnesota), Russell Okung (Los Angeles Chargers) and Darren Waller (Oakland).

Tuesday, June 23: Good Guy Award (NFL player for his qualities and professional style in helping pro football writers do their jobs)

Nominees: Lorenzo Alexander (Buffalo-retired), Stephon Gilmore (New England), Eli Manning (New York Giants-retired), Philip Rivers (Los Angeles Chargers), Justin Simmons (Denver) and Joe Staley (San Francisco-retired).

Wednesday, June 24: Dick McCann Award (Reporter who has made a long and distinguished contribution to pro football through coverage)

Nominees: Don Banks (, Jarrett Bell (USA Today), Vic Carucci (Buffalo News), Jeff Legwold (, Gary Myers (author) and Barry Wilner (Associated Press).

Thursday, June 25: Jack Horrigan Award (League or club official for his or her qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job)

Nominees: Chris Ballard (Indianapolis GM), Kevin Byrne (Baltimore EVP-pubic & community relations), Jerry Jones (Dallas owner/president/GM), Anthony Lynn (Los Angeles Chargers head coach) and Brian McCarthy (NFL VP, communications).

Friday, June 26: Pete Rozelle Award (NFL club public relations staff that consistently strives for excellence in its dealings and relationships with the media)

Nominees: Baltimore, Denver, Indianapolis, New England and Pittsburgh.

Monday, June 29: Paul “Dr. Z” Zimmerman Award (Lifetime achievement as an assistant coach in the NFL) – two honorees

Nominees: Bill Arnsparger, Romeo Crennel, Dick Hoak, Rod Marinelli, Bobb McKittrick, Floyd Peters, Buddy Ryan and Bobby Turner.

, , , , , , , ,

© 2013-2024 Pro Football Writers of America.
All Rights Reserved.

Designed by Chris Pika